Bug Tracking

buggie

 

I use CFEclipse for most of my CFML work, and I’ve gotten Subversion working nicely with it.

One thing I miss from Team Foundation Server is bug/issue tracking. 

This is going to mean some comparison shopping.

CFEclipse supports Mylin, which can integrate directly with git and bugzilla and some other bug trackers.

I just took a glance at bugzilla.  It prefers Apache Web Server and MySQL, but it’s possible to make it work with IIS and SQL Server.  (Warning Bells a’Ringing) It seems like overkill, since a big part of it is the public-facing bug reporting service.  That will be needed down the road for Production, but right now I need a quick-and-dirty way to track my bugs/issues internally.

Will check around on the CF blogs to get an idea what people use.  I looked in CF411, and there’s a big list of possibilities.

broc9

About blippoids

I'm a complicated person, but not in an interesting way. I think that broccoli refrigerator magnets are a profound statement about our society. Just imagine the meeting where grown humans argued heatedly whether the company should make broccoli or cauliflower fridge magnets. Did the rift cause deep seated resentment between the two camps? Were friendships fractured forever? Or did everyone in that strategy meeting simply agree that cauliflower is never as funny as broccoli? Come on, there's no comparison! Even before a certain American president publicly disrespected it, broccoli had so much more personality than any other vegetable. For one thing, vegetables like spinach which are universally despised just don't make good fridge magnets. If you made a magnet representing a glob of cooked spinach, no one would even recognize it. Sales would plummet. This is the point where you want to interrupt me with the notion that a magnetic carrot would be funniest. Come on! That's the most proposterous thing I have ever heard. Listen, I have SEEN a magnetic carrot. And it was anything BUT funny. Even magnetic cauliflower is funnier than a carrot. Don't even waste my time with carrots. I think if they had gone with magnetic cauliflower they'd have caused considerable damage to the company's brand. Broccoli is a dark color, and cauliflower is white. Every time a plastic fridge magnet is handled, a person leaves more finger goo on it, and white shows all that grime. Nobody is going to tell you, hey you need to clean that cauliflower fridge magnet because it looks revolting. How would you even clean inside all those little bumps? You would be far more likely to throw it away or stick it on someone's car and go buy a magnetic broccoli. Let's say you wanted to buy a magnetic cauliflower, and you googled "magnetic cauliflower". The search results are pages and pages of black EAR MAGNETS! I don't even know what that is. It only proves my point, that magnetic broccoli with always rule the fridge door. Cauliflower literally pales in comparison. The brave strategists in that meeting must certainly have saved the company from financial ruin and humiliation of their brand. Yes, they lost friends that day, but it was worth it. You almost never see them get the credit they deserve. And that says volumes about our society.
This entry was posted in Development Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment